Goal Setting!

Well it is the beginning of 2013… For me it is a time for reflection on what I have done over the past year and what I need to do to continue to improve over the new year.

What have I done? Besides the first one, they are listed in random order as I think of them. 🙂

  1. Earned my PhD from Arizona State.
  2. Started a blog called The Assistant Professor 
  3. Visited Devil’s Tower in Wyoming
  4. Found Pinterest and became addicted!
  5. Had a Pinterest Party
  6. Went to my first college football game as a non-band member. (That is a lie because I went to one or two before I joined the band at Ole Miss. Since then I have not gone to one as a non-band member.)
  7. Rooted for UK as they won the 11th National Championship… (I followed the entire season… This season I am having trouble keeping up with them…)
  8. Traveled out of the Americas for the first time… Turkey, Germany & Austria
  9. Got a couch… Hadn’t had one since before grad school…
  10. Met my geek crush!!! It was sickening how nervous I was, but I made it through. Now we are working on some projects for the year 2013.
  11. Made 3 super cool wreaths
  12. Put in my first IRB… Then my second…
  13. Wrote a proposal that was not funded… Have a second one out, but it is with the funding agency as they decide what gets funded.
  14. Traveled to visit my family in KY at least 3 or 4 times… Drove there…
  15. Got to go to 3 Thanksgiving meals. 🙂 I love turkey! I love Turkey too!

I know I have done more than what is listed, but thought 15 was a good number to stop with. Now it is time for me to start considering what I want to accomplish in 2013. I have been reading several books by Laura Vanderkam on how to use my time wisely. Before I can begin to look at my working hours, I need to ask myself these few questions she suggested to think about:

  • What do I want to accomplish, professionally, in the next year? That is, what could I say in a year-end review or in the family Christmas letter?
  •  What actionable steps will these goals require? How many hours will these steps take? • How many hours do I want to work per week? Multiply this by 50 to get a rough total for the year (1,500 to 3,000 hours if you’re working 30-60 hours per week).
  • Are my goals reasonable within this time frame?
  • Where can I block these tasks in to my work schedule?
  • What do I want off my plate at work? • Of these things, what can I ignore? Minimize? Outsource?
  • How can I get better at my professional craft?

If you want to read the book these questions come from check out: Vanderkam, Laura (2010-05-26). 168 Hours: You Have More Time Than You Think (Kindle Locations 1653-1661). Penguin Group. Kindle Edition.

My next post later this week will focus on what my 2013 end of the year review will look like. We can then see how close I come to this idea in 2014.

We can do it!

Krista

One thought on “Goal Setting!

  1. you’ve been busy!!! Happy New Year! Love this tips you gave in this update. A good reminder for me to actually MAKE some goals this year instead of just suffering from inertia. Hmmm…will have to think about that later. I’m starting to feel bored with how things are right now. I need a project, I guess!

    want to hear more about your geek crush!!!

    xox Suzanne

    Date: Wed, 2 Jan 2013 01:20:41 +0000 To: suzanne.cassano@live.com

Leave a Reply

